ABOUT US2018-08-23T16:09:32+00:00

ABOUT US

“women in ip was founded in 2011 as a platform for women working in the field of intellectual property and registered as a non-profit association in 2014.”

Our aim is to connect women in ip from different areas in order to promote and strengthen the exchange of experience, to promote cooperation in the professional context and to break new ground together.

We have created an internationally operating non-profit platform linking women in ip, such as patent attorneys and lawyers, judges, patent examiners, professors, patent engineers, candidates and members of the opposition and appeal boards of the European Patent Office.

We regularly organize events in both German and English language that take place at a national and international level. These events are aimed at ensuring a continuous professional and social exchange.

We offer specialist seminars and trainings for women in ip, which are specially tailored to our professional group and designed exclusively to meet their vocational needs. Further information can be found on our Events page.

All women registered with women in ip e.V. receive advance notifications of our events or other important announcements via e-mail. If you are interested, you can also contact us directly.
We are more than happy to receive your wishes and suggestions on interesting topics or hear about other feedback you may have.

History

Women still constitute a minority in technically-oriented professions. This is particularly true for professions that require a technical degree and several years of additional training, such as the field of intellectual property. Accordingly, the industry-specific conservative structures and the course of day-to-day work in industrial property protection are predominantly adapted to male needs. The potential for conflict begins with different approaches in communication, through the type of personnel management to the discussion of salary issues. These and similar experiences have been made by women working in the field of intellectual property, whether in the law firm, in industry, at court or in office.

Women undoubtedly have particular strengths and skills: they are often creative, keep an open mind to new projects and also consider out-of-the-ordinary solutions to problems. Many women show a high level of responsibility towards their employees and possess a gift for motivation. In addition, they have a distinct talent for organization and coordination, not least because women often manage their families and households in addition to their profession.

Our experience shows that the cooperation among women is usually very unproblematic and flexible. All these potentials of women and their working styles can be applied professionally profitable, if they complement existing structures positively and meaningfully. However, women have to start perceiving their own strengths by themselves and live them out consciously in their professional environment in order to make targeted use of them. Ultimately, it is not only us women who benefit from a continuous exchange in this sector on a professional and social level, but also the entire environment. Flexible, open and modern structures and communication channels are perceived and welcomed as positive changes from all sides. Conscious cooperation with women also offers new approaches and opportunities for male colleagues.

Über uns2018-08-23T15:58:36+00:00

Über uns

„women in ip wurde 2011 als Plattform für Frauen die im gewerblichen Rechtsschutz tätig sind gegründet und 2014 als gemeinnütziger Verein registriert.“

Unser Ziel ist es, women in ip aus verschiedenen Bereichen zu vernetzen, um den Erfahrungsaustausch zu fördern und zu stärken, die Zusammenarbeit im beruflichen Kontext zu fördern und gemeinsam neue Wege zu gehen.

Wir haben eine internationale gemeinnützige Plattform geschaffen, die Patentanwältinnen und Rechtsanwältinnen, Richterinnen, Patentprüferinnen, Professorinnen, Patentingenieureinnen, Kandidatinnen und Mitglieder der Einspruchs- und Beschwerdekammern des Europäischen Patentamts miteinander verbindet.

Wir organisieren regelmäßig Veranstaltungen in deutscher und englischer Sprache, national und international, um einen kontinuierlichen fachlichen und gesellschaftlichen Austausch zu gewährleisten.

Wir bieten Fach- und Trainingsseminare für Frauen in ip an, die speziell auf unsere Berufsgruppe zugeschnitten und exklusiv für sie konzipiert sind. Weitere Informationen finden sie unter Veranstaltungen.


Alle Damen, die bei women in ip e.V. registriert sind erhalten Vorankündigungen über unsere Veranstaltungen per E-Mail. Bei Interesse können Sie uns auch direkt kontaktieren.

Gerne nehmen wir auch Ihre Wünsche und Anregungen zu interessanten Themen entgegen.

Historie 

Frauen stellen in technisch geprägten Berufen immer noch die Minderheit. Besonders trifft dies auf Berufe zu, die ein technisches Studium und eine mehrjährige zusätzliche Ausbildung erfordern, wie der Bereich des Patentwesens. Dementsprechend sind auch die branchenspezifisch konservativen Strukturen und der Ablauf des Arbeitsalltags im gewerblichen Rechtsschutz überwiegend männlichen Bedürfnissen angepasst. Das Konfliktpotential beginnt mit unterschiedlichen Ansätzen in der Kommunikation, über die Art der Personalführung bis hin zu Gehaltsfragen. Diese und ähnliche Erfahrungen haben Frauen gemacht, ganz gleich ob in der Kanzlei, in der Industrie, am Gericht oder im Amt.

Frauen haben ohne Zweifel besondere Stärken: Sie sind häufig kreativ, neuen Projekten gegenüber aufgeschlossen und ziehen auch einmal ungewöhnliche Problemlösungen in Erwägung. Viele Frauen zeigen eine hohe Mitarbeiterverantwortlichkeit und Gabe zur Motivation. Zudem besitzen sie ein ausgeprägtes Organisations- und Koordinationstalent, schon allein, weil sie neben dem Beruf meist auch Familie und Haushalt managen.

Unsere Erfahrung beweist, dass die Zusammenarbeit von Frauen meist sehr unproblematisch und flexibel ist. All diese Potenziale lassen sich beruflich gewinnbringend einsetzen, wenn sie vorhandene Strukturen positiv und sinnvoll ergänzen. Frauen müssen jedoch ihre eigenen Stärken selbst wahrnehmen und diese bewusst in ihrem beruflichen Umfeld leben, um sie gezielt einzusetzen. Von einem Austausch in dieser Branche auf fachlicher und sozialer Ebene profitieren letztlich nicht nur wir Frauen, sondern das gesamte Umfeld. Flexible, offene und moderne Strukturen und Kommunikationswege werden von allen Seiten als positive Veränderung empfunden. Die bewusste Zusammenarbeit mit Frauen bietet auch für die männlichen Kollegen neue Ansätze und Möglichkeiten.